Awards 2008 National Championship October 15 - 18, 2008 National Regatta Awards

Shields National Championship Trophy – Sterling silver Chippendale tray donated by Cornelius Shields and awarded each year to the winner of the Shields National Championship Regatta. *2008 Shields National Championship Trophy winner is*

William Berry on SYRINX, sail #239, Fleet #10 Buzzards Bay Y.C.

Cornelius Shields Memorial Prize – Shields half-model donated by Fleet #1 of Western Long Island Sound and the Larchmont Yacht Club in 1982 in memory of Cornelius Shields and awarded at the Shields National Championship Regatta to that skipper that achieves the greatest improvement in his standings from the previous Shields National Championship Regatta.

2008 Cornelius Shields Memorial Prize winner is **Mike McCaffrey and Jan Slee** on MAVERICK, sail #33, Fleet #9 Ida Lewis Y.C.

Shields Class National Championship Institutional Trophy – Pewter Revere bowl donated by Christopher Withers, Captain, USN, ret., of the Narragansett Bay Fleet #9, and awarded annually for the best performance by an institutional crew in the Shields National Championship Regatta. 2008 Shields Class National Championship Institutional Trophy winner awarded to Bruce Thompson on JAMM'D, sail #94, Irving Y.C. (all the way from California!)

Senior Skipper Award (Moore Trophy) – Pewter tray donated in 1981 by James B. Moore Jr. of the Manhasset Bay Fleet #2 and awarded for the best performance among the five oldest skippers in the Shields National Championship Regatta.

2008 Senior Skipper Award (Moore Trophy) winner is Charlie Shoemaker on HAWK, sail #245 Fleet #9 Ida Lewis Y.C.

Junior Skipper Award – Pewter tray donated in 1981 by James B. Moore Jr. of the Manhasset Bay Fleet #2 and awarded for the best performance among the five youngest skippers in the Shields National Championship regatta.

2008 Junior Skipper Award winner is Peter Clark on VIRGINIA, sail #224 Fleet #9 Ida Lewis Y.C.

Take A Bow Trophy – Fully rigged bow section of a Shields Yacht mounted on a teak door. It was donated in 1985 by the Commodore and membership of the Monterey Peninsula Yacht Club and later refurbished by Brian Ladacouer, Graham Quinn, and the crew of Shields #46, of the Buzzards Bay Fleet #10. It is awarded each year to an individual or individuals selected by a special committee to reward and celebrate dubious achievement during the Shields National Championship Regatta.

2008 Take A Bow Trophy winner is brothers Allen and Henry Clark on TANGO, sail #86 Fleet #21 Tred Avon Y.C.

Golden Stern Award – donated in 2006 by the Goodwin's and Cape Cod Shipbuilding Co., is awarded to the last place finisher of the Shields Nationals Regatta (who actually competes). The award recognizes the effort it takes to race in a national regatta and that last place is far superior to not participating at all. It is expected that in the year to come both the trophy and its recipients will be improved for the next Nationals. This stern section was a casualty of contact that came from a boat repaired by Cape Cod Shipbuilding Co. and is ably sailing again.

2008 Golden Stern Award winner is Gugy Irving on HORIZON, sail #243 Fleet #21 Tred Avon Y.C. Gordon L. Benjamin Memorial Newcomer Award – It is to be awarded to the top finishing

skipper sailing in his/her first Nationals. Gordon was a long time member of Fleet #9 and the 1976 Shields National Champion.

2008 Gordon L. Benjamin Memorial Newcomer Award winner is Schuyler Benson on DRAGON FLY, sail #35 Fleet #21 Tred Avon Y.C.

NEW TROPHY

Kap-Dunn Trophy - donated in 2008 by Fleet #21, Tred Avon Yacht Club, awarded to the winning fleet. (as calculated by the fleet's top three finishers, minimum 3 boats racing in order to qualify.)

2008 winner: Fleet #9 - Ida Lewis Y.C.