Awards 2013 National Championship - September 25 - 28, 2013

Shields National Championship Trophy – Sterling silver Chippendale tray donated by Cornelius Shields and awarded each year to the winner of the Shields National Championship Regatta. Tim Dawson on AEOLUS, sail #254, Fleet #9

James B. Moore Jr. Memorial Prize - In recognition of James B. Moore, Jr.'s invaluable service to the Association as President, as Founder of Fleet No. 2 and in numerous other capacities, the Long Island Sound District, consisting of Fleets Nos. 1 (Western Long Island Sound), 2 (Manhasset Bay) and 5 (Seawanhaka Corinthian Yacht Club), instituted in 1991 a prize to be awarded each year to the crew of the winning yacht to recognize their efforts in attaining the goal. Crew of AEOLUS, sail #254, Fleet #9

Cornelius Shields Memorial Prize – Shields half-model donated by Fleet #1 of Western Long Island Sound and the Larchmont Yacht Club in 1982 in memory of Cornelius Shields and awarded at the Shields National Championship Regatta to that skipper that achieves the greatest improvement in his standings from the previous Shields National Championship Regatta. John Shannahan on OLD PAINT, sail #71, Fleet #21

Senior Skipper Award - Pewter tray donated in 1981 by James B. Moore Jr. of the Manhasset Bay Fleet #2 and awarded for the best performance among the five oldest skippers in the Shields National Championship Regatta. Skip McGuire on LURE, sail #182, Fleet #1

Junior Skipper Award – Pewter tray donated in 1981 by James B. Moore Jr. of the Manhasset Bay Fleet #2 and awarded for the best performance among the five youngest skippers in the Shields National Championship regatta.

Ethan Robbins on WHITE RABBIT, sail #238 Fleet #10

Take A Bow Trophy – Fully rigged bow section of a Shields Yacht mounted on a teak door. It was donated in 1985 by the Commodore and membership of the Monterey Peninsula Yacht Club and later refurbished by Brian Ladacouer, Graham Quinn, and the crew of Shields #46, of the Buzzards Bay Fleet #10. It is awarded each year to an individual or individuals selected by a special committee to reward and celebrate dubious achievement during the Shields National Championship Regatta.

Pete Siegel on HAWK, sail #245, Fleet #9

Golden Stern Award – donated in 2006 by the Goodwin's and Cape Cod Shipbuilding Co., is awarded to the last place finisher of the Shields Nationals Regatta (who actually competes). The award recognizes the effort it takes to race in a national regatta and that last place is far superior to not participating at all. It is expected that in the year to come both the trophy and its recipients will be improved for the next Nationals. This stern section was a casualty of contact that came from a boat repaired by Cape Cod Shipbuilding Co. and is ably sailing again. Roland Schultz and Jim Alpi on Seagull, sail #70 Fleet #1 and 21

Gordon L. Beniamin Memorial Newcomer Award – It is to be awarded to the top finishing skipper sailing in his/her first Nationals. Gordon was a long time member of Fleet #9 and the 1976 Shields National Champion. Drew Kellog on DRAGONFLY, sail #35 Fleet #21

Kap-Dunn Trophy - donated in 2008 by Fleet #21, Tred Avon Yacht Club, awarded to the winning fleet. (as calculated by the fleets top three finishers, minimum 3 boats racing in order to qualify.) Fleet #9 – Newport, RI